BOARD WRAPUP

GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES - June 5, 2023

OPENING EXERCISES

• The prayer was led by **Board Assistant Secretary Helen Berrott-Tims**. The pledges to the American flag and Texas flag were led by **Board Trustee Mercedes Renteria, III.**

RECOGNITIONS AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

- Administer Oath of Office to Board Member Jessie Martinez, District 7
- Donation for S.E. Harris County Community Coalition Bay Area council on Drug and Alcohol (BACODA)
- GCCISD Police Officer Sergeant Promotion
- CTE Skills USA State Board

CITIZENS PARTICIPATION

None

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

May 22, 2023, Regular Board Meeting

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORTS

- SHAC Annual Report 2022-2023
- Budget 2023-2024 Workshop #4

ACTION ITEMS

- Donation to BACODA
- Compensation Package 2023-2024
- Application for an Optional Flexible School Day Program for Peter E. Hyland Center and IMPACT Early College High School





BOARD WRAPUP

GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

- Contract with Kids U US DBA Fueling Brains for Early Childhood Learning System Integration Brain Development for the preK-3 through second grades
- MOU between GCCISD and Communities in Schools of Baytown, Inc. for 2023-2024
- Interlocal agreement between GCCISD and Harris County for Community Youth Services (CYS)
- MOU for the Harris County Juvenile Justice Alternative Education Program (JJAEP) for 2023-2024
- Interlocal agreement for educational services for Ortis Academy (Recovery High School)
- Interlocal agreement for specialized services Highpoint School (HS) East
- MOU to administer third party testing to neighboring districts
- Purchase of 11 school buses by GCCISD Transportation department
- Renewal of auto liability and general liability for GCCISD
- Frist option to extend RFP for Food Service management services & delegation of authority to Superintendent to finalize all renewal documents required by the Texas Department of Agriculture
- Budget amendments

PERSONNEL ACTION ITEMS

- Approved elections of Darby Allen, teacher, assigned to Austin Elementary; Alyshia Andersen, teacher, assigned to Clark Elementary; Jessica Brown, teacher, assigned to Hopper Primary; Madalena Brown, teacher, assigned to Highlands Elementary; Emily Camilo, teacher, assigned to E.F. Green Junior School; Sholanda Cooper, teacher, assigned to Horace Mann Junior School; Tammy Dearman, teacher, assigned to Baytown Junior School; Tara Dodds, teacher, assigned to Ashbel Smith Elementary; Yessenia Elizarraras, teacher, assigned to Highlands Elementary; Andrea Gans, teacher, assigned to Baytown Junior School; April Ghormley, teacher, assigned to Carver Elementary; Anna Gibson, teacher, assigned to Highlands Junior School; Michelle Miller, teacher, assigned to Crockett Elementary; Shane Morreale, teacher, assigned to E.F. Green Junior School; Zakary Noel, teacher, assigned to Goose Creek Memorial High School; Alan Seals, teacher, assigned to Baytown Junior School; Ester Soto, teacher, assigned to Horace Mann Junior School; Seth Tunink, teacher, assigned to Baytown Junior School; Daniela Villegas, teacher, assigned to Harlem Elementary; and Jimmy Warfield, teacher, assigned to Ross S. Sterling High School.
- Approved resignations of Lorie Batrez, SCE teaching and learning coach; Kandace Bourque, special education life skills teacher at George H. Gentry Junior School; Stephanie Brock, science teacher at Stuart Career Tech High School; Claudia Cantu-Garza, fourth grade teacher at Dr. Johnny T. Clark Elementary School; Christy Clement, science teacher at Edward F. Green Junior School; Abby Davis, Title I teaching and learning coach at Mirabeau B. Lamar Elementary School; Leah George, special education life skills teacher at Goose Creek Memorial High School; Erica Jenkins, music teacher at William B.





BOARD WRAPUP

GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

Travis Elementary School; Cyre King, first grade teacher at Harlem Elementary School; Kendalyn King, fifth grade teacher at Stephen F. Austin Elementary School; Taylor Leggett, physical education teacher at Cedar Bayou Junior School; Brynn Lloyd, second grade teacher at Dr. Antonio Bañuelos Elementary School; Shamica Marbley, special education - life skills teacher at Horace Mann Junior School; Karla Marroquin-Salazar, first grade dual-language teacher at Harlem Elementary School; Demetrius McCall, deputy superintendent of administrative services; Lisa McHaney, licensed specialist in school psychology; Kandice Melchor, science teacher at Horace Mann Junior School; Cyrena Mendoza, special education - life skills teacher at Edward F. Green Junior School; Marshall Mosley, mathematics teacher at Baytown Junior School; Aleyda Perez, social studies teacher at Ross S. Sterling High School; Holly **Ponder,** special education – resource/inclusion teacher at George Washington Carver Elementary School; Ariel Reitmeier, physical education teacher/coach at Edward F. Green Junior School; Summer Robinson, mathematics instructional specialist; Matthew Sanchez, assistant principal at George H. Gentry Junior School; Christopher Scott, librarian at Dr. Johnny T. Clark Elementary School; Jesse Smith, history teacher at Baytown Junior School; Mitchell Stephens, intervention credit recovery teacher at Robert E. Lee High School: Michel Torres. fifth grade bilingual teacher at Harlem Elementary School: Andrew Walz, mathematics teacher at Robert E. Lee High School; Allison Wingard, science teacher at George H. Gentry Junior School; Whitney Wood, mathematics teacher at Highlands Junior School; Cameron Young, health education teacher/coach at Ross S. Sterling High School and Elsa Yzquierdo, special education - diagnostician.

- Approved the retirement of Leo Ryza, maintenance supervisor building trades, 35 years.
- Approved administrative elections of Shannon Ramirez, Coordinator of Advanced Academics & Special Projects; Jonathan Abston, Tonara "Tori" Benard and Kristen Cannatella, Assistant Principals at Sterling High School; Kelly Congdon, Assistant Principal at Gentry Junior High; Amy Maddie, Assistant Principal at Cedar Bayou Junior High; Braun Pina, Assistant Principal at Crockett Elementary; Crystal Yancy, Assistant Principal at Bañuelos Elementary; Daena George, Student Support Administrator at Harlem/Ashbel Smith; Ryan Rogers, Student Support Administrator at Bañuelos/Walker; Louann Taylor, Student Support Administrator at Carver/Lamar; Kayla Forrest and Delynna Kelley, Instructional Specialists K-12 ELA; Leslie Stevenson-Henson and Maritza Cisneros, Diagnosticians.

FUTURE BOARD MEETING

The next Regular Board meeting is scheduled for **June 26**th in the Central Administration Building. All Regular Board meetings are set for **6 p.m.**



